The Region 4 ESC Board of Directors' Regular Meeting Minutes April 26, 2022 Board Room, Region 4 Education Service Center 7145 West Tidwell Road Houston, Texas 77092

The Region 4 Education Service Center (Region 4) Board of Directors met in a Regular meeting on April 26, 2022, at 11:00 a.m. at Region 4 Education Service Center. The following Board Members were in attendance: Mrs. Scotty Bass, Mrs. Linda Tinnerman, Dr. Hugh Hayes, Mrs. Carmen Moreno, Mr. Andy Reyes, Mrs. LaVerie Wise, and Ms. Lalla Morris. Mr. Victor White joined virtually. No members were absent.

Staff members in attendance included: Dr. Pam Wells, Dr. Kelly Ingram, Dr. Robby McGowen, Mr. Robert Zingelmann, and Ms. Kristi Hernandez.

Kate Mejia served as recording secretary.

- 1. General Items
 - A. The meeting was called to order at 11:02 a.m. by Mrs. Scotty Bass, Chair.
 - B. The invocation was led by Mrs. Carmen Moreno. The pledges of allegiance were led by Mrs. Linda Tinnerman.
 - C. There were no comments from the public.
 - D. Dr. Wells shared with the Board information about the Accountability and Leadership Solutions team who will train thousands of teachers and administrators from Houston ISD between now and August 31, 2022 as they transition to the state appraisal system. Dr. Wells also shared that the Reading/Language Arts Solutions department was awarded the prestigious International Dyslexia Association accreditation which allows the program to expand even further. It was also shared that the Regional School Safety Summit was held virtually in partnership with Houston Crime Stoppers. In recognition of the great work this partnership has produced, Houston Crime Stoppers awarded Dr. Wells, on behalf of Region 4, the 2022 Safe School Award. Lastly, Dr. Wells presented Texas Association of Education Service Center Service Awards to Dr. Hugh Hayes and Mr. Andy Reyes for ten years of service and Mrs. Linda Tinnerman for 15 years of service.
- 2. Reports/Information Items
 - A. Dr. Robby McGowen shared the report on personnel matters, including employment, retirement, and termination of full-time or part-time employees.
 - B. Mr. Robert Zingelmann shared the report on public agencies utilizing National IPA/Region 4 Education Service Center (ESC) contracts.
 - C. Dr. Pam Wells and Ms. Erin Kolecki from TASB shared the report on the TASB Compensation Plan review.
 - D. Dr. Pam Wells and Mr. Robert Zingelmann presented information on the 2022–2023 Budget Considerations.

- E. Dr. Pam Wells and Mr. Robert Zingelmann presented the report on Region 4 Building renovations.
- F. Dr. Pam Wells and the search consultants reviewed the status of the Executive Director search.
- 3. Consent Agenda

Mrs. Scotty Bass recommended that Items 3A-1, 3B-1, 3B-2, and 3C-1 be presented, reviewed, and handled in one motion, one second, and one vote.

- A. Administration
 - 3A-1 Approval of the minutes of the Regular Meeting on February 22, 2022.
- B. Business Office
 - 3B-1 Approval of budget amendments
 - 3B-2 Approval of Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Financial Status Recap Report as of March 31, 2022, and Investment Portfolios as of February 28, 2022 and March 31, 2022.
- C. National Intergovernmental Purchasing Alliance Company (National IPA)
 - 3C-1 Approval of one year annual renewal contracts for the following companies:
 - October 2022
 - Music & Arts
 - Stanbury Uniforms, Inc.
 - Washington Music Center
 - Wenger Corporation
 - HumanWare USA, Inc.
 - Lightspeed Technologies, Inc.

A motion was made by Dr. Hugh Hayes and seconded by Mr. Andy Reyes to approve all consent agenda items as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

4. Action Items

- A. Administration
 - 4A-1 A motion was made by Mrs. LaVerie Wise and seconded by Mrs. Carmen Moreno to approve declaring the following unopposed candidates elected to their designated places on the Region 4 Board of Directors:
 - Mrs. Scotty Bass, Place 1-representing Fort Bend and Waller Counties (Fort Bend, Hempstead, Lamar Consolidated, Needville, Royal, Stafford Municipal, and Waller Independent School Districts); and
 - Mr. Andy Reyes, Place 2-representing Brazoria County (Alvin, Angleton, Brazosport, Columbia-Brazoria, Damon, Danbury, Pearland, and Sweeny Independent School Districts). The motion carried unanimously.
 - 4A-2 A motion was made by Dr. Hugh Hayes and seconded by Mrs. Linda Tinnerman to approve the MOU between the Education Service Center

Curriculum Cooperative and Region 4 and authorize the Executive Director or designee to negotiate final terms and enter into the agreements annually for the next three-year period. Dr. Kelly Ingram presented information regarding Memorandum of Understanding between the Education Service Center Curriculum Cooperative and Region 4 Education Service Center. The motion carried unanimously.

- 4A-3 A motion was made by Ms. Lalla Morris and seconded by Mr. Andy Reyes to authorize Executive Director or designee to negotiate final terms and execute the Interlocal Participation Agreement which is the foundational agreement of the TASB Risk Management Fund. Mr. Robert Zingelmann presented information regarding approval of the Interlocal Participation Agreement which is the foundational agreement of the TASB Risk Management Fund. The motion carried unanimously.
- B. Business
- C. National Intergovernmental Purchasing Alliance Company (National IPA)
 - 4C-1 A motion was made by Mrs. LaVerie Wise and seconded by Mr. Andy Reyes to approve a three (3) year contract with the option of two (2) oneyear renewals for exterior surfacing products, services, and paving solutions as presented. Mr. Robert Zingelmann reviewed information about the contract award for exterior surfacing products, services, and paving solutions. Administration recommended contract award to Lithified Technologies US LLC; PaveConnect Logistics, LLC; RL National Roofing Partners, LLC; and Weatherproofing Technologies, Inc. The motion carried unanimously.
- 5. Closed Session

Mrs. Scotty Bass requested a motion to enter into Closed Session. A motion was made by Dr. Hugh Hayes and seconded by Mrs. Carmen Moreno to enter into Closed Session to meet with search consultants and discuss candidates for Executive Director [Tex. Gov. Code Section 551.074] and to discuss goals and evaluation of the Executive Director [Tex. Gov. Code §551.074]. The motion carried unanimously. The Board entered Closed Session at 12:11 p.m. A motion was made by Ms. Lalla Morris and seconded by Mrs. Linda Tinnerman to reconvene the Board Meeting. The Board reconvened at 1:15 p.m.

6. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made by Dr. Hugh Hayes and seconded by Mrs. LaVerie Wise to adjourn the meeting. Mrs. Scotty Bass adjourned the meeting at 1:20 p.m.

Carmen J. Mareno

Laterie Wise

Chair

Secretary